Home Local News Chess players chosen for Gert Sibande Trials

Chess players chosen for Gert Sibande Trials

Chess players chosen for Gert Sibande Trials. On Thursday, 3 May, chess players from Mkhondo participated in the municipal chess trials to hopefully advance to the circuit trials, which will take place on Saturday, 19 May. The players competed in separate girls and boys sections for U/13’s, U/15’s and U/18’s.

In each section, the best seven players will proceed to the next level. The following players will represent Mkhondo. The players’ names are given according to their position:

Boys U/13: 1) Siboniso Mkhonza, 2) Mthobisi Vilakazi, 3) Ndumiso Manana, 4) Makabongwe Vilakazi, 5) Andile Manana, 6) Lindokuhle Zulu and 7) Spesihle Dhlamini. Girls U/13: 1) Phumlile Nkosi, 2) Hlobisile Khanyile, 3) Nombuso Tshabalala and 4) Sibusile Mbatha. All U/13 players came from Ndawonye Primary School. Boys U/15: 1) Hanno Viviers – HPR, 2) Sisanda Khumalo – NSS, 3) Amaan Mahomed – HPR, 4) Carwyn Venter – HPR, 5) Rishay Singh – HPR, 6) Bonginkosi Silinda – NSS and 7) Siyabonga Khanyile – NSS. Girls U/15: 1) Zama Dlamini – NSS, 2) Nonkuleleko Nkosi – NSS and 3) Luyanda Ngwenya – NSS. Boys U/18: 1) Phila Mabaso – NSS, 2) Joshua Carr – HPR, 3) Nkosiyasi Mndebele – NSS, 4) Mndeni Nene – NSS, 5) Siyabonga Kubheka – NSS, 6) Sbongakonke Lukhele – NSS and 7) Mathew Lewis – HPR.

This is the second year in a row that Phila has won this section and we hope to see him continue playing high quality chess for Mkhondo. Girls U/18: 1) Elizabeth Carr – HPR, 2) Lené Viviers – HPR, 3) Sagarika Dash – HPR, 4) Nomcebo Shongwe – NSS, 5) Ayanda Vilakazi – NSS, 6) Vuyisile Sengwayo – NSS and 7) Zuzile Thela – NSS.

The following codes were used to indicate the schools from which the children are from: HPR for Piet Retief High School and NSS for Ndlela Secondary School.

- Advertisment -

Latest Excelsior News

Overflowing drains a health concern

It is shocking to see how many sewerage drains in Piet Retief are overflowing. Some of these drains have been overflowing for quite some...

A Women’s Month treat

On Thursday morning 27 August, the ladies who work at Best Home and Electric in Mkhondo were treated with a delicious cake to celebrate...

Dagga bust of R900 000-00

On Wednesday 26 August members of the Mkhondo SAPS, as well as a member of the Mkhondo Traffic Department conducted a roadblock on the...

Medical waste in public area

A concerned citizen of Mkhondo recently visited the Excelsior News to report, what he had assumed to be, medical waste which was found in...

Learners receive necessary donation

On Tuesday 25 August, 140 learners of Thathukusa Primary School in Panbult received a necessary donation from the Department of Public Works, Roads and...

Two officials involved in fatal accident

The Mpumalanga Department of Education has learned with shock the news of the passing away of two officials of the Gert Sibande District, who...