TWK Assegaai 3-in-1 Marathon

TWK Assegaai 3-in-1 Marathon
Charka - Best water point!

On Saturday, 17 February, runners met bright and early at the Piet Retief Rugby Club for the annual TWK Assegaai 3-in-1 Marathon, hosted by the Assegaai Marathon Club.

A total of 513 runners completed the 10 kilometre, 21.1 kilometre or 42.2 kilometre race, with numerous more competing in the 4 kilometre fun run. Many of the runners also showed their support to Wessel Cronje, who was recently diagnosed with pancreatic cancer, by wearing something pink.

The route was changed for this year, with athletes running to the bridge over the Assegaai river on the Mahamba road before turning back. They turned around further from town than before and the route in town was shortened. Congratulations to the winners of each age group, per distance.

Fun run Men – Qiniso Matonsela Ladies – Thulani Nqwenya 10 kilometre Men’s open – Sikhumbuso Nhlengthwa Men 40+ – Petros Sibande Men 50+ – Vusi Sigudu Men 60+ – Malcolm Ball Junior Men – Mfanafuthi Lushaba Women’s open – Wendy Msezane Women 40+ – Phumzili Nhlanhla Women 50+ – Susan Koen Women 60+ – Amanda Thomas Junior Women – Pearl Ngwenye 21.1 kilometre Men’s open – Derick Masongo Men 40+ – July Mavuso Men 50+ – Jan van Vreden Men 60+ – Phillimon Mxinephi Junior Men – Jacques Kaulder Women’s open – Samkelisiwe Khumalo Women 40+ – Paula Small Women 50+ – Leana Aslett Women 60+ – Cathy de Beer 42.2 kilometre Men’s open – Graham Malinga Men 40+ – Graham Malinga Men 50+ – Petros Ndlandla Men 60+ – John Carruthers Women’s open – Eunice Nhlapo Women 40+ – Helena Joubert Congratulations to Charka who won the best water point, with Sasol N2/Tuscarora Spur placing second and the SAPS receiving the third place.

The Assegaai Marathon Club also wishes to thank every person and institution for their help to make the race a success.

Thank you to TWK Agri for sponsoring the medals, shirts for the marshalls and the vehicle driving with the front runners; Dreyfus van Heerden, Annemie Joubert and Waldo Botma for their help; Piet Retief Rugby Club for the use of their facilities; OK Express for the donation of Coca-Cola at the water points; every volunteer who helped with the entry, data capturing and time keeping; Aren Keulder and his team of referees who ensured that everything was according to ASA regulations; Neels Vermaak for the music and announcements; Piet Retief Wheelers, who provided cyclists to stay with the leaders in every distance; Andre Klingenberg who took a video at the finish line as part of the time-keeping; every business that manned a water point; everyone who supported the Pink Race; Jan van Vreden and his team who marked the route and delivered water; P&M Ice who delivered the ice at each water point and the Piet Retief Hospital’s ambulance services who were ready to help in an emergency.

This day was a huge success and the organisers are looking forward to next year’s competition. The next Fun Run will take place on Wednesday, 28 February, from the Piet Retief Rugby Club and everyone is invited. Remember that you can be entered into a draw at the end of the year if you collect a medal of each Fun Run.