Piet Retief Country Club AGM

Piet Retief Country Club
Piet Retief Country Club

Members of the Piet Retief Country Club had their annual meeting at the club, on Wednesday, 24 August.

Richard Wass will continue as chairman for the next term, with J.P. du Toit (Snr) taking command as president of the club. The newly chosen members of the golf committee are: Jaco Smit (golf captain), Marius Gouws (vice-captain), Gert van der Merwe (handicapper), Jan-Hendrik Viljoen (green keeper), Engela Niebuhr (Secretary) and also Anthony Wilson, André Croeser, Winston Nkosi, Annetjie Bruwer and Sonja du Toit as additional members.

Also on Wednesday, 24 August, an IPS competition was played, with Anton van Zuydam claiming 1st position, du Toit (Snr) was 2nd and Butch Cooper 3rd. Butch also claimed a two club for the day, with J.P. du Toit (Snr) and Jakes Jacobs winning the jackpot. On Saturday, 27 August, another IPS competition was played.

Danie Bruwer was crowned king on the day with 40 points, Wimpie Bruwer claimed 2nd position with 39 points and Anthony Wilson 3rd, also with 39 points. Anthony Wilson and André Croeser took the two clubs for the day and Anthony Wilson also won the jackpot with a great day’s golf. The club would like to congratulate the three ladies that participated in the Sanlam National Cancer day. If any person is interested in joining the club, they can contact Wade Thompson on 082 742 9037.